Follow @book_lounge
Subscribe here to receive invitations to our events and our monthly Newsletter
* = required field

2010 Man Booker Longlist announced

Wednesday, July 28th 2010

The judges for the 2010 Man Booker Prize for Fiction yesterday, Tuesday 27 July, announced the longlist for the prize, the leading literary award in the English speaking world.

A total of 138 books, 14 of which were called in by the judges, were considered for the ‘Man Booker Dozen’ longlist of 13 books.

The Longlist

Peter CareyParrot and Olivier in America (Faber and Faber)

Emma DonoghueRoom (Pan MacMillan – Picador)

Helen DunmoreThe Betrayal (Penguin – Fig Tree)

Damon GalgutIn a Strange Room (Grove Atlantic – Atlantic Books)

Howard JacobsonThe Finkler Question (Bloomsbury)

Andrea LevyThe Long Song (Headline Publishing Group – Headline Review)

Tom McCarthyC (Random House – Jonathan Cape)

David MitchellThe Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (Hodder & Stoughton – Sceptre)

Lisa MooreFebruary (Random House – Chatto & Windus)

Paul MurraySkippy Dies (Penguin – Hamish Hamilton)

Rose TremainTrespass (Random House – Chatto & Windus)

Christos TsiolkasThe Slap (Grove Atlantic – Tuskar Rock)

Alan WarnerThe Stars in the Bright Sky (Random House – Jonathan Cape)

The Book Lounge looks forward to congratulating Damon Galgut in person tonight when he is here in converstaion with Andie Miller!

The chair of judges, Andrew Motion, comments:

Here are thirteen exceptional novels – books we have chosen for their intrinsic quality, without reference to the past work of their authors. Wide-ranging in their geography and their concern, they tell powerful stories which make the familiar strange and cover an enormous range of history and feeling. We feel confident that they will provoke and entertain.”

Peter Carey is one of only two authors to have won the prize twice, in 1988 for Oscar and Lucinda and 2001 for True History of the Kelly Gang. In 1985 his book Illywhacker was shortlisted for the prize and Theft: A Love Story was longlisted in 2006.

Three authors have been shortlisted before: David Mitchell (twice shortlisted in 2001 for number9dream and in 2004 for Cloud Atlas), Damon Galgut (in 2003 for The Good Doctor) and Rose Tremain (shortlisted in 1989 for Restoration). She was also a judge for the Booker Prize in 1988 and 2000.

Howard Jacobson has been longlisted twice for his book Kalooki Nights in 2006 and for Who’s Sorry Now? in 2002.

The 2010 shortlist will be announced on Tuesday 7 September at a press conference at Man Group’s London headquarters. The winner of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2010 will be revealed on Tuesday 12 October at a dinner at London’s Guildhall. The winner of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction will receive £50,000 and can look forward to greatly increased sales and worldwide recognition. Each of the six shortlisted authors, including the winner, will receive £2,500 and a designer bound edition of their shortlisted book.

Chaired by Andrew Motion, former Poet Laureate, the 2010 judges are Rosie Blau, Literary Editor of the Financial Times; Deborah Bull, formerly a dancer, now Creative Director of the Royal Opera House as well as a writer and broadcaster; Tom Sutcliffe, journalist, broadcaster and author and Frances Wilson, biographer and critic.

Megan  Wednesday, July 28, 2010